Entry tags:
ruby ruby ruby
ok i'm going to try to run through this quickly because i am... pathologically bad at responding to intro posts 8(!!! But this is Marin with her fifth, Ruby Oberholtzer, Ribbonfin junior, cheerleader, aspiring figure skater, literally an ice princess.
⛸️ Ruby came to Gooseberry last year and stayed faaaaar away from the 40 Best Friends nonsense because she thought camping school was a temp deal. Unfort this means I can't offer most people much in the way of connections bc she's a snob who thought all of you were dumb, but HOPEFULLY this year she's getting off her high horse and trying to make some friends. SO THAT SAID:
⛸️ She's Spencer Sweet's skating partner! He's VERY LOUD and has lots of VERY LOUD friends, which is mildly stressful, but she loves Spencer, so if you're one of his good friends, she... probably has more positive than negative feelings about you. IS SHE INVITED TO HIS BIRTHDAY PARTY???
⛸️ She started Ribbonfin Cheer and Animagus Studies this year! These will be the first two places she'll start looking for friends. :O
⛸️ God I am really sorry for the fact that this cabin now has four dancers???? But one or two friends (sort of kind of friends?) in junior Ribbonfin would be cool. Maaaybe the less sensitive, more acerbic Ribbonfins, since Ruby is... not good... with people's feelings.
⛸️ Speaking of being not good with people's feelings, maybe some flings/exes? Ruby goes for girls or boys. She also doesn't "do" dating, so this is either strictly no-strings-attached or Ruby was like "uh no, that's not what I wanted" and dumped them after two weeks.
⛸️ I finally have a Canadian!!!!!!
⛸️ Ruby came to Gooseberry last year and stayed faaaaar away from the 40 Best Friends nonsense because she thought camping school was a temp deal. Unfort this means I can't offer most people much in the way of connections bc she's a snob who thought all of you were dumb, but HOPEFULLY this year she's getting off her high horse and trying to make some friends. SO THAT SAID:
⛸️ She's Spencer Sweet's skating partner! He's VERY LOUD and has lots of VERY LOUD friends, which is mildly stressful, but she loves Spencer, so if you're one of his good friends, she... probably has more positive than negative feelings about you. IS SHE INVITED TO HIS BIRTHDAY PARTY???
⛸️ She started Ribbonfin Cheer and Animagus Studies this year! These will be the first two places she'll start looking for friends. :O
⛸️ God I am really sorry for the fact that this cabin now has four dancers???? But one or two friends (sort of kind of friends?) in junior Ribbonfin would be cool. Maaaybe the less sensitive, more acerbic Ribbonfins, since Ruby is... not good... with people's feelings.
⛸️ Speaking of being not good with people's feelings, maybe some flings/exes? Ruby goes for girls or boys. She also doesn't "do" dating, so this is either strictly no-strings-attached or Ruby was like "uh no, that's not what I wanted" and dumped them after two weeks.
⛸️ I finally have a Canadian!!!!!!

no subject
you...... know all my characters why do i bother to do this lmfao
ANYWAY WHATEVER my point is that i am very excited!!! very very excited!!!!!! hello ruby ruby ruby beautiful new junior jewel
no subject
and THANK YOOOOOOU i wanted another junior so bad :'((( they are pure sweet children who were better off before ruby showed up
no subject
welcome to the two junior club, it's nice in here. i can't wait to see the garbage these kids get up to now that they're hellish upperclassmen instead of sweet beautiful babies. ruby is a perfect addition.
no subject
hmmmm.
paige is in her year & they share boating and OE. it's really up to you how ruby would take her because she's a little in your face. good news: also unflappable! take that, icy demeanour!
kurt's a year above but he's also new to cheer (and his Very Cool Trout Suit) and he's an animagus studies staple, as well as in boating, OE, and equestrian! honestly all of my characters' interactions with ruby are up to you. um. ???
she's a dance baby, so say hi to CASEY!!! he likes hip hop so he probably likes her style.
/sweeps cor under the rug
no subject
paige is definitely A Bit Much but her resilience in the face of mean girling is a point in her favour. a point that is immediately cancelled out by being an azurcrest. gross. let's say... net neutral. reserving judgment for now. not 100% intolerable.
kurt is... too cute. :( i imagine last year kurt was on the "who?" list but now that has social capital has risen (senior! prefect! part-time dog and part-time trout!), ruby respects him a lot more. she'll be nice-ish to him since they're both on cheer now
and yessss casey!!!! oh i should add to her app that ruby goes to barre since i really wanted a dance kid ;u; she actually thinks casey is pretty cool??? since spencer loves him, if nothing else, but also that guy knows how to tear it up
no subject
...God sorry anyway.
Ira will obviously know her and has already warded her and will I think really like her? He should be more intimidated by snobby ice-princessness than he in reality is.
Jade still does not know what another GemOname doing at this school, anyway. Ruby probably reminds her of every single queen bee girl at every single school that she had to take down. She will try to be icy back probably, at least at first. She's only so good at that.
Ferdie's welcoming to all new Ribbonfins, and not scared of the scary ones.
My others really do not count.
no subject
LOL she definitely likes Ira so far. they're both... very dry, it works. HE'S A GOOD INFLUENCE ON SPENCER ;3;
This is excellent because Ruby probably thought Jade was stuckup at first. (Which... pot, kettle, Ruby.) I don't know what their relationship will end up being but I'm all for some kind of GemOname irrational mutual dislike???? I'd love for them to get friendly eventually but maybe it's funnier now if they just get on each other's nerves for dumb reasons lol
Ferdie is a good fish dad and respectable Head Boy. Sorry if Ruby ever gives him attitude. :(
no subject
YAY GOOD because he likes her for this reason too. He is certainly. Some kind of influence. He will never promise it is always good and I'm sorry.
Yesss that's perfect. I can DEFINITELY see them becoming friendly/friends eventually! But Jade CAN portray herself as very stuck up so that's. Fair. She probably still has a hard time turning that Off around Ruby, hence all the dumb not-really-hate
He is v sorry her first night in game night in Ribbonfin involves so many killers.
no subject
Uhhh lessie, easy one is Ramon because he is a buttface Ribblefibble. Any haughtiness from Ruby was probably brushed off because whatever, if you want to think you're better than everyone else that's your prerogative! He will get snotty if she does anything to upset someone in his cabin, but ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ he's not a grudge holder because he doesn't want to put in the energy to care. He also agrees that feelings are pretty annoying, and so are attachments with people you mess around with! If you want, he's available for any flings with zero strings attached since they've clearly both already transcended that.
Hazel..... probably didn't/doesn't like her? If they got in good quickly I could see her being sort of ok with Ruby, but she's not super fond of the whole snob thing. So she might just scowl at her a lot??
MY OTHER KIDS ARE POINTLESS except Rupert's standard poodle is named Ruby and he has probably told her this at least once.
no subject
Solo's in her class and he's gonna be more about speaking out this year and less about being walked over.
Quentin and Olivia are more irrelevant but Olivia's obviously a prefect and Quentin obviously into annoying people.
no subject
Heathcliff is a roommate and friend of Spencer so he probably knows Ruby pretty well and likes her despite any snobbiness. He assumes they're friends even if they're not~ HI RUBY. Aaaaand I can offer him as a potential 'dated and dumped in two weeks' person if you want him. Because it makes me laugh and because I think he'd have gotten over it pretty easily. Is her judgment that bad, though? IDK. Just an offer!
Cole is a fellow Ribbonfin junior and a fellow dancer (as of this year), so they've probably crossed paths a decent amount. If she can put up with his space cadet-y weirdness, he'll be friendly toward her and he could be a decent dance partner particularly if she wants someone she can give orders to. He's also in Animagus Studies with her~
Aaaand, there's also Grace who is another fellow Ribbonfin and also brand new to cheer this year! :o She probably thinks Ruby is very cool~ She's also friendly with Spencer and a Canadian! She also gets putting a passion ahead of everything, including people, and she feels the same way about opera that Ruby feels about figure skating. Ambitious Girls.
Lachlan and Casper...probably don't matter much to her.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
- Todd is probably my most relevant!!! Spencer friends! Animagus studies! Cheer! I think he's like, removed Ruby from his potential dating list out of respect for Spencer so she's one of 6 people at this school he doesn't have a crush on. Which is good because he'd probably fall in love with her in about five seconds flat otherwise.
- Ari thinks she's hot and hates herself for it
- Tally's in the same house, and Clem doesn't have much overlap, but they both seem like people Ruby would probably not be super interested in trying to get along with anyway?
- Reece probably tried to like sit with her at lunch and shit last year to make sure she was doing okay adapting to Gooseberry life
no subject
Ursula is far more likely to get on with Ruby, being a snobby princess Ribblefibble herself. Buuut they do not have any actual overlap beyond seeing each other around the campsite.
Aaaand Pear is in some clubs with her but I doubt either is on the other's radar.
no subject
riley wants to make out with her
no subject
My brain is mush and I'm not good at intro posts on a good day. I'm sorry. Nia thinks she is v cute sup. Yancey is Pro Cheer Squad and will be friendly for that reason. Lucas sees her around a bit because of classes and clubs including Animorphs, but he is also probably the sort of huge dumb nerd she wouldn't fraternize with.
no subject
she and madison should be friends ;-;
ribbonfin juniors, cheer, iceskating, probably personalities that mesh for sure
:u
no subject
AND YES, I would LOVE for them to be friends! Given that Madison is also her cheer captain and very Ambitious and Put Together, I think Madison would be one of few people Ruby finds really impressive??? If Madison ever wanted to show her cattier mean girl moments to someone else, Ruby probably wouldn't be too phased. Which is... terrible but lmao
no subject
i've been trying to give mads further avenues for meanness, so! yes! this would be perfect ;-;
they can whisper about people & be princesses together
no subject
I think most relevant is Milo? He's on Ribbonfin Cherr and he's not SUPER soft. He doesn't really like discussing his feelings either and is pretty chill. But obviously it's Ruby's choice whether she wants to be friends!
Carolina is super sweet so I dunno how Ruby feels about her. Regardless, she'll be friendly!
Vee. The end. ;)
Ana is a wild card here, but she definitely likes all these traits listed so. Who knows how it will go? lol
no subject